The Great American Bearden Family Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Gravesite August 6, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Travis and Lindsey @ 12:35 AM

Against its will, everything on Earth was subjected to God’s curse. All creation anticipates the day when it will join God’s children in glorious freedom from death and decay. Romans 8:20-21

tomb stone

Sunday, August 4th was the first day we went to visit Baby Ben. It was harder than I expected. As usual, I failed to recognize the significance of how what we were doing would take me back to the moments when we first lost him.

Travis, Titus, and I were there. It tugged at my heart strings when I realized that this was the first time we were all together as a family since I was pregnant with Ben. Travis began with a prayer, and read the following verses we both liked. They were chosen because we wanted to remember God’s faithfulness. I wanted to remember that He sent His own Son to die on the cross, (while we were yet sinners!) so that we could be restored to Him and have eternal hope that far outlasts the things of this world. I also wanted to be reminded that God has adopted Benjamin, and that he is now in His presence singing praises. That’s why I chose Revelation Song sung by Kari Jobe. I wanted for a time to join in community with Ben and all the saints singing praises to our Most High King.

Lamentations 3:22-26
New International Version (NIV)
22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”
25 The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,
to the one who seeks him;
26 it is good to wait quietly
for the salvation of the Lord.
31 For no one is cast off
by the Lord forever.
32 Though he brings grief, he will show compassion,
so great is his unfailing love.
33 For he does not willingly bring affliction
or grief to anyone.

Psalm 139:13-18
New International Version (NIV)
13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand—
when I awake, I am still with you.

1 John 3:1
New International Version (NIV)
3 See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.

Revelation 7:9-17
New International Version (NIV)
The Great Multitude in White Robes

9 After this I looked, and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. 10 And they cried out in a loud voice:

“Salvation belongs to our God,
who sits on the throne,
and to the Lamb.”
11 All the angels were standing around the throne and around the elders and the four living creatures. They fell down on their faces before the throne and worshiped God, 12 saying:

“Amen!
Praise and glory
and wisdom and thanks and honor
and power and strength
be to our God for ever and ever.
Amen!”
13 Then one of the elders asked me, “These in white robes—who are they, and where did they come from?”

14 I answered, “Sir, you know.”

And he said, “These are they who have come out of the great tribulation; they have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb. 15 Therefore,

“they are before the throne of God
and serve him day and night in his temple;
and he who sits on the throne
will shelter them with his presence.
16 ‘Never again will they hunger;
never again will they thirst.
The sun will not beat down on them,’
nor any scorching heat.
17 For the Lamb at the center of the throne
will be their shepherd;
‘he will lead them to springs of living water.’
‘And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”

Revelation 21
New International Version (NIV)
A New Heaven and a New Earth

21 Then I saw “a new heaven and a new earth,” for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. 2 I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. 3 And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. 4 ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

5 He who was seated on the throne said, “I am making everything new!” Then he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

6 He said to me: “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life. 7 Those who are victorious will inherit all this, and I will be their God and they will be my children.

We then sang some of Titus’ favorite songs, “Jesus Loves the Little Children” and his bedtime song, “Jesus Loves You (Me).” As we said our final goodbyes, I laid a note to Benjamin containing the poem I had written (on a previous blog) with a rock from our garden.

brother

 

Leave a comment